I was more than thrilled to see the October 2015 Traditional Home arrive with the long awaited feature of the 2015 Junior League of High Point Designer Showhouse and coverage of my space.  

Be sure pick up a copy and pop over HERE to see the full online expanded feature. 

Carriage House Art Haven by Holly Hollingsworth Phillips 

“It’s a refuge for the global nomad, ” says Holly Hollingsworth Phillips of her color-infused, upstairs art retreat. The graphic, zebra-print carpet served as the cornerstone of her design. Bold artwork and patterned Roman shades make up for the room’s lack of architectural detail. The stair railing leading upstairs (not shown) inspired the use of brass accents—see the étagère, elephant sculptures, and lighting pieces. . A teak “hand” chair and a coffee table discovered during Phillips’s travels in India are pretty but practical. The blue-velvet sofa adorned with tribal pillows beckons with comfort. “I envision myself relaxing here and planning my next adventure, ” the designer says.  

102605213_w

Sources:

Wallcovering (“Tahitian Weave”/Pearl #T5069): Thibaut,  thibautdesign.com.
Paint (“Designer White” #33-1): Pratt & Lambert,  prattandlambert.com.
Sofa (“Guillame Sofa”): Taylor Burke,  taylorburkehome.com.
Sofa fabric (“Versailles” #E25205); Roman shade fabric (“China Club”/Nero #CHINA CLUB.81): Kravet,  kravet.com.
Roman-shade trim (“Tickled”/True Blue #10105-5): Lee Jofa,  leejofa.com.
Pillows (ikat): vintage.
White pillows (Mongolian lamb): West Elm,  westelm.com.
Floor lamp (“Tulip Quartz Floor Lamp” #LL-1013F): Emporium Home,  emporiumhome.com.
Sofa side table (“Flora” #03039): Cyan Design,  cyandesign.biz
.

Stool under side table (“Red Suti Pouf” #487513): World Market,  worldmarket.com.
Lamp on side table (“Dolly Table Lamp” #G800, by Robert Abbey): Y Lighting,  ylighting.com.
Hand chair (“Buddha Chair, Teak” #GCHA220T): Noir,  noirfurniturela.com.
Carpet (“Zebra Stair Runner”): Stark,  starkcarpet.com.
Coffee table: The English Room,  theenglishroom.biz.
Étagère (“Delano): Currey & Co.,  curreycodealers.com.
Brass elephant: vintage.
Bench to right of étagère (“Wimborne” #V939-BE); bench fabric (“Crocodylus”/Lemon): Vanguard Furniture,  vanguardfurniture.com.
Art behind bench (“Zebra Pegasus, ” cashmere and silk shawl, custom framed): shawl available from Hermès,  usa.hermes.com.
Planter (discontinued, but for similar, “Natural Water Hyacinth Oval Ava Baskets”): World Market,  worldmarket.com.
Tree: Campbell’s Greenhouses, 704/331-9659.
Ceiling light (“Soleil Large Pendant” #SK5202): Circa Lighting,  circalighting.com.
Art behind sofa, (painting of woman carrying vessel, by Sally King Benedict); purple sculpture (by Virginia Scotchie): Hidell Brooks Gallery,  hidellbrooks.com.
  

Along the far wall, the kitchenette features a backsplash by Ann Sacks, quartz countertops from Wilsonart, Thermador appliances, and an entertainment sink by Mick DeGiulio for Kallista 

102599027_w

Sources:

Cabinetry design: Melonie Plotkowski, Marsh Kitchens, 336/884-7363,  marshkitchens.com.
Cabinetry (“Atlanta”/Onyx): Marsh Furniture,  marshfurniture.com.
Hardware (“Cobblestone Pulls”/Polished Brass #TK304BR): Top Knobs,  topknobs.com.
Countertop (“Lorraine Quartz” #Q1012): Wilsonart,  wilsonart.com.
Backsplash (“Lume Sticks”/White): Ann Sacks,  annsacks.com.
Sink (“Bacifiore Single Basin Entertainment Sink” #L20308-00, by Mick DeGuilio); faucet (“Jeton Pull-Down Kitchen Faucet” #P23090-00): Kallista,  kallista.com.
Microwave (convection); built-in coffeemaker; refrigerator (30-inch built-in with bottom freezer #T30BB820SS): Thermador,  thermador.com.
Rug runner (vintage): Stark,  starkcarpet.com.
Foo dogs (“Blue Foo Dogs” #PC1010, Ping Collection): Van Collier,  vancollier.com.
Tray (“Double Handle Servng Tray”/Hair on Orange , Bronze finish #9.91861); ice bucket (“Double Handle Ice Bucket”/Hair on Orange, Bronze finish #9.91860); orange martini glasses (“S/4 LabMartini Glasses”/Clementine #7.60026): Global Views,  globalviews.com.
Decorative glasses: Bernstein Glass,  bernsteinglass.com.

The art haven dinette might not be very spacious, but at least you can have coffee! And Thermador’s built-in coffee maker reduces counter clutter.

102599026_w

Here are more images I had taken by local photographer Dustin Peck.

This gives you more than a glimpse at my wild and wonderful space. 

tra150414_090 2

tra150414_090 1

tra150414_120

tra150414_119

tra150414_077

tra150414_137

hol150414_vig_005

tra150414_106

I huge thank you to Traditional Home Magazine, Junior League of High Point, and all the incredible sponsors for letting me be a part of this wonderful experience. 

Be sure to head back to see the before pictures of this space

Be sure to subscribe to THE ENGLISH ROOM for extra news, giveaways and discounts.

 Let’s get friendly on Facebook,  Twitter,  Pinterest,  Tumblr and Instagram

 Please feel free to contact The English Room if you are interested in our interior design services in Charlotte or beyond. 

3 Responses to The English Room is Featured in October 2015 Traditional Home Magazine
  1. […] have worked with the wonderful people at Thermador for the recent kitchenette in the Traditional Home High Point Showhouse.  The opportunity to get to know the brand was a true treat and an investment in my ability to […]

  2. Hello Holly! What a gorgeous space you designed — may I ask the source of those terrific Greek key-style counter stools? I couldn’t locate it in the article. Many thanks!


[top]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Anti-Spam Quiz: